I am unhappy when I am happy

Blogadda

First time i heard this phrase I said to myself “What is wrong with this man? He must be miserable” But I was wrong somewhere. I have come across so many such phrases now that I am utterly confused.

Why is it becoming so difficult to fathom the idea of finding pure happiness from the smallest joys of everyday life or simplest of things around you? Why are we shunning the idea of a hearty laugh and sending an all expenses paid trip open invitation with one-way ticket to displeasure?

Have you noticed people who have stopped laughing to their heart’s content? Sometimes it is done voluntarily. Some even have the fear that ‘if others see that I am too happy then they will think that I am content with what I have and I don’t want to progress in life.’ Any pretence to gloominess is most welcome.

Will you stop yourself from making a face in front of a child to see him/ her laugh just so that others don’t see you act immature? Then you shouldn’t stop yourself from making your inner child happy again.

I listen to people and I hear them too. This phrase got me thinking how everything is right and everything is wrong at the same time, you just need to flip the coin and see…

“ I am unhappy when I am happy”

I was initially confused by the pride with which the speaker uttered these words. There is a glint of happiness that you see in that pride. If being unhappy and dissatisfied makes them happy then there shouldn’t be anything right or wrong about it. For a lot of people, this dissatisfaction is the force majeure that drives them to do wonderful things and yes we are in the wrong to ask them to fake a smile.

So by that logic even “I am happy when I am unhappy” hold true too? (Damn you ghissu brain! Everything can’t be solved. LHS is not always equal to RHS)

Can dissatisfaction be a greater force than joy or elation? But so many studies show that happiness enhances productivity. Or does this work on just a few individuals and not in a group?

Imagine a world where these individuals change, may be you and I will not be proud of them anymore. May be they won’t be able to achieve the pinnacle of success that they can right now by being uncomfortable with status quo.

So let everyone do as they wish to…

There is a lot more to think and feel about , but a few words which always put me at peace:

IMG_1786 (1)

Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing and rightdoing, there is a field.

I’ll meet you there.

When the soul lies down in that grass, the world is too full to talk about.

Ideas, language, even the phrase “each other” doesn’t make any sense.

Rumi – 13th century

2 thoughts on “I am unhappy when I am happy

Leave a Reply

